The Alberta Elite Hockey League is the single governing body for AAA male hockey for all teams identified under Hockey Alberta’s Elite Male Hockey Model.

The AEHL is a sanctioned league of Hockey Alberta and is comprised of the U18 AAA Division (formerly the Alberta Midget Hockey League), U17 AAA Division (formerly the Alberta Minor Midget Hockey League), and U15 AAA Division (formerly the Alberta Major Bantam Hockey League).

Member teams in the AEHL are eligible for Provincial Playoffs for the three Divisions as provided in the Hockey Alberta Regulations, unless otherwise directed by Hockey Alberta.

The League plays under the Rules of Hockey Canada and Hockey Alberta, and each team is responsible for complying with all rules and regulations of those Governing Bodies as well as the regulations of the League.